On the road without eating out

Pesto Pasta

I didn’t know if I could do it.  I didn’t know if I could go into a beautiful community co-op and buy just enough food (not too much, not to little) to eat for a 4 day trip.  But frugality is of the essence right now.  I’m not getting paid much for this visit to Lexington, KY, and I want to save any extra food allowance money possible.

I wanted to get the perfect amount of food to not crave eating out, and thus, not miss exploring Lexington’s food offerings (which just happens to be one of my favorite activities).

So, The 4-day Grocery List: 

1 box Pacific curried lentil soup (Pacific always tastes good.)

1 half loaf of crusty bread

a good hunk of cheddar cheese

1 bag of baby carrots, 2 apples, 1 peach

1 container of hummus

4 Wallaby yogurt cups

1 small (two serving) thing of fresh pasta

1 small container fresh, pre-made pesto (the glue of everything else on this list)

1 bar dark chocolate

1 mint soy dream ice cream sandwich (splurge!  It’s hot here!)

(so hot in fact, that I returned to the store for 2 bottles of beer: Left Hand’s Good Juju, and Abita’s Purple Haze)

Total: Approx $35

-Sure, I might’ve spent less on similar items at a regular grocery store, but I wouldn’t have enjoyed it enough to justify not eating out, and at the co-op, I know exactly what I need and what I can do with it.

-Ok, so I ate breakfast out twice (Alfalfa’s and Doodle).  It’s breakfast! What do you want from me!?  But otherwise I ate lots of carrots and hummus, soup, yogurt, and cheese sandwiches.  Luckily they had a few spices where I’m staying, so I could flavor the pasta with garlic and the cheese sandwich with cayenne.  And tonight, feast of all feasts, I rustled up some polenta.  I cooked it in the curried lentil soup, and added some cheese and lots of salt and pepper.  It was delicious with a cold beer and finished with half an ice cream sandwich.  All in all, I feel like I’ve learned a little something about eating simply on the road.

This Post was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

