Antique Sandwich Co.

My friend Chaela has influenced many delicious habits of mine (tahini on toast, molasses on granola and yogurt), but I am now taking also taking inspiration from her parents.  We got to visit with them in Chaela’s home state of Washington, and now, I’m determined to replicate their rhubarb sauce and red lentil hummus.  Her parents also bake awesome pies (I feel I owe the success of the Paonia Peach Pie to them).  Her mom, Tamie, has honed her kitchen skills for over 30 years at the charming Antique Sandwich Co. in Tacoma, WA.  Check out some of the photos Chaela took of the place last summer.  Her mom’s cafe was an absolute must-see of our NW road trip this summer, and it was certainly a highlight.  At this point in the trip I was beginning to have eating out overload, so I didn’t plan to order this milkshake, but it looked too darling to pass up.  No regrets.  Espresso + Chocolate + NY Times crossword.

One thought on “Antique Sandwich Co.

  1. Wow. If this place beats Jeni’s then it must make some pretty delicious ice cream.

    Hard to imagine, actually. But I’ll trust your discerning palette.

    😉

Leave a Reply

