Graham Cracker Muffin/Cupcakes w/ Lemon Curd

Photo by my awesome new roommate, check her out: http://jenniferray.net/

So I’ve moved to Chicago.  After two years on the road, I have a new apartment, a new neighborhood, a new city, a new home.  This warrants a party.  But I only know two people in Chicago.  So I decided to host a friends-of-friends party.  I collected email addresses of my friends’ Chicago based friends and sent out an invite.  Instead of worrying about what would happen with a roomful of strangers at my house, I focused on the food.  I made some of my favorite party staples (eggplant caviar, curried couscous).  I wanted to make something to go with the mounds of leftover lemon curd (see recipe here) sitting in my fridge, something simple that would compliment its sweet/tartness.   And I wanted it to be stunningly delicious.  Lowell suggested graham crackers.  I wanted cupcakes.  So we made graham cracker muffin/cupcakes.  And the party was a success.

Graham cracker muffin/cupcakes

2 1/2 c Graham Cracker crumbs

2 t baking powder

1 c whole milk

1 egg

2 T honey (you might even try leaving this out.  I had honey flavored grahams, and they were plenty sweet)

lemon curd (recipe here)

-Preheat your oven to 400.  Line your muffin tin with muffin liners.

-In a mixing bowl, mix graham cracker crumbs with the baking powder.  Stir in milk, egg, and honey until just moistened.  Spoon batter into muffin cups.  (I didn’t think these would rise much, but they do, so leave a little room!)

-bake for 15 minutes or so, until a tootpick comes out clean.  Cool.

-Add a small smear of lemon curd (much less than you would with frosting, this stuff is potent!)

So what does it mean for a travel food blog when I’m not traveling constantly?  I don’t know yet.  We shall see.

One thought on “Graham Cracker Muffin/Cupcakes w/ Lemon Curd

Leave a Reply

