Sweet Sue’s

Sweet Sue’s is no secret, and despite the fact that it is located in Phoenicia, NY (population: 381), I always have to wait for a table.  It’s always full of visiting New Yorkers who escape to the Catskills for a weekend of camping, hiking, and swimming holing.  Last time I even ran into Nick, an audio sound artist friend from Brooklyn.  No longer able to call the Catskills my home, I am now a visitor too.  I feel lucky I had some time to spend in the mountains on the way to Buffalo.  My perfect day is waking up early to hike Giant Ledge and following it up with a late breakfast at Sweet Sue’s.

Sweet Sue’s is without a doubt my favorite breakfast place ever. I always get the huevos rancheros because they’re incredible.  But I always agonize over the decision.  They have all of their pancake varieties (buttermilk, buckwheat, strawberry, banana, blueberry, peach, apple, carrot cake, gingerbread) lined up as paintings on the wall.   They even have a pancake sundae, which consists of pancakes drizzled in yogurt and fresh fruit.  Every time I go, I agonize over the pancake vs eggs decision.  I know I will always choose eggs, but I also know that on those blue moons when I choose pancakes, I won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

