vanilla ice cream

DSCN4303
One of my strong visceral memories from childhood is this homemade black cherry ice cream I ate at my babysitter’s house.  I knew that there was something more special about this ice cream than even the delicious Breyer’s mint chocolate chip my dad brought home.  I’ve longed for an ice cream maker for so long.  Sometimes I go here and drool over the flavors that people are concocting.  Recently, I escaped Chicago to kayak, swim, campfire, and catch fireflies in Michigan-a simple summer weekend that culminated in Julia’s grandmother’s recipe for vanilla ice cream.  Topped with Michigan strawberries, it was simply divine.

2 thoughts on “vanilla ice cream

Leave a Reply

