Hummus

As a child, I was perplexed and confused by hummus.   My mom, who knew everything, pronounced hummus like humus (“hewmus”), and thus, so did I.  I never understood why people would never understand what I was talking about.  I assumed it was because in the small towns in upstate NY, their moms were not making them hummus.   Except when I said it to my 9th grade Math teacher (who was a caterer on the side), she looked at me like I was crazy and said, “You mean hummus? Humus is dead leaves.”

In all other hummus respects my mom has never steered me wrong.    This recipe is ours.  The proportions take into account my love of lemon and tahini with her love of garlic, so when you’re blending these all together, taste test and adjust as you like.  It’s a great road recipe (if you can get your hands on a blender or mixer or food processor) that always makes me feel instantly at home.

2 Cans of garbanzo beans/chick peans, one drained, one undrained

1/2c to 3/4c Tahini

Juice of 1-2 Lemons

2-3 Cloves of garlic

(I topped with some olive oil, parsley, and paprika; The Hummus Place style)

One thought on “Hummus

  1. As usual, you have made it BEAUTIFUL! I’m gonna eat my hummus in my hummer……hum, hum, hum.
    Maree

Leave a Reply

