Dining in Houston was all well and good, but with Thanksgiving, Chanukkah, and Christmas all happening, I had much more fun cooking at “home” this time round.  I really tried to ignore the mugginess of Houston and force myself to feel fall through food.  This meant mashed potatoes, fish, squash, soup, lots of kale, and hot toddys.

For dessert one night, Lowell made his mother’s baked apples, which left us with a delicious plate of cinnamon-sugar-butter that I didn’t know what to do with but refused to throw away.  It ended up on pancakes (using an Everyday Pancake recipe from the NYTimes that turned out thick cakes), and it was divine.  I might try putting it in the batter next time.

Also, Nina and I invented a couple quiches for some remaining pie shells.  I think the masterpiece contained bacon, mushrooms, cheddar, shallots, and rosemary.

Leave a Reply

