As the 4th largest U.S. City, with incredible diversity, Houston provides many choices for the discerning restaurant goer.  It is, however, a sprawling mess with highways connecting highways.  It was a little too much to tackle in a month, so I generally limited my exploring to downtown and the Montrose/Heights areas.  Also, I’m pretty intimidated by BBQ, so I only tried once at Hickory Hollow and probably wouldn’t again.  I hear Goode Company is the place to go, although I didn’t get there (or head out of town to the hill country for the real Texas deal).

La Guadalupana Bakery and Cafe has great cinnamon coffee (took me two cups to get used to) and yummy baked goods and breakfast items.  They’re super nice and patient with my subpar Spanish.  I had a phenomenal croissant and tried chilaquiles for the first time.  In was a momentous breakfast moment.  Nina and I had the best churros ever at Hugo’s.  We had lots of pho at Pho Saigon and Bánh mì at Les Givrals.  And we had a great final meal at Broken Spoke Cafe, a Belgian eatery where arriving by bike gets you 10% off.  I had mussels in a tarragon sauce, an endive salad, and a Belgian beer I can’t remember.

As for drinks, I lived around the corner from La Carafe, the “oldest bar in Houston”, but only managed to go once.  The jukebox had great jazz, but we witnessed the bartender being really weird and awkward, which is probably the reason I didn’t go back.  Good food and coffee can be found at Brasil which has a great outdoor space and shows movies nightly.

My biggest regret is not trying the fried avocado at Haute Texan Taco Truck.  If you’re in town, find out where they’re parked on twitter and let me know how it is.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

